news and results from your local league

Week 11

Powered by Drupal
Thu, 22/12/2011 - 15:11 -- chazlehurst


Bentley A carry on serenely at the top of the Aldershot & District Table Tennis League Division 1 after an 8-2 win over bottom side Old Woking. Andy Mudie won his usual three for Bentley but Bill Matlock secured two good points for Woking against hard hitting Steve French and the mercurial Micky Lang. Only seven points behind the lead though are Central A who got the better of Frimley A 7-3 thanks to a hat trick from Phil Snelson and ten points further behind and in need of some big wins to get back in the hunt are Broadmoor A who muscled past Ash B 7-3, rolling back the years impressively for Broadmoor was John Millward who won a triple.


Bentley’s B team are leading the way in a closely fought Division 2 but actually slumped to a 9-1 reverse at the hands of Fleet CC A who are now in fourth spot and only five points off the lead mainly thanks to the unbeaten Sameer Pathak who joined Dave Joyce with another hat trick. Frimley B are holding on to second spot after being held to a five all draw by third place outfit Cody B, Pete Good of Frimley the only man unbeaten on the night.


In Division 3 Tennis E are out in front on 66 points but suffered a reverse at the hands of Ash D for whom Terry French and Dave Bentall both won duo’s. Cody C cut the lead down to four points after beating two man Ash F 7-3, Jack Docherty winning two out of two. Frimley D made it 7 wins out of 9, and stay hard on the heels of Cody, beating Tennis F 6-4 thanks to a Dave Mackinnon treble. 


Ash J have a 100% record in Division 4, their latest success being a 7-3 win over their K team, Ray Mears, Bob Powney and Terry Kavanagh all won two but none could get the better of Dave Phillips. Tennis H are only five points off the top with a game in hand thanks in no small part to a 10-0 drubbing of Fleet CC D, Graham Dorey,  Keith Johnson and John Davis all on triple form, meanwhile Cody E eased past their F team 9-1 and stay in the promotion mix, Norrie Short and John Warburton each winning all three for the third place team.